Lunch and Dinner

Oat Crust Pizza for One

Sundays are always the days you have a bit more time to prepare yourself a nice breakfast and lunch. Well at least I usually have.

Last Sunday started great as I made myself some pancakes – yes if you follow me on Instagram then you also have the recipe.

For lunch I wanted something bigger because I have a workout in the evening so my body has to be fueled properly right? Well at least that is my excuse to have a good bigger lunch.

But I was lacking some good sources of carbs – yes, no rice, no spelt pasta.

I was thinking to bake my cottage cheese buns and just make myself a tuna sandwich but look at that, didn’t have spelt flour…yes I was in need for grocery shopping but it was Sunday, everything was closed, at least at 3pm, when I decided I want to make something.

So I figured I’ll just make the buns from oat flour, I always have oats! And I did, but changed my mind half way through – surprise, surprise huh? I decided to make myself some little oat crust pizza and besides that some oat buns.

The result? A delicious, filling mini pizza that actually tasted pretty much pizza like but healthy and loaded with good carbs and protein.

image3

So I had to share the recipe with you.

For the crust you will need:

Ingredients: makes 1 mini pizza crust

  • 50-60g of oat flour (just blend the oats)
  • 50-60g of quark or cottage cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1,5 tsp of baking powder
  • Pinch of salt

Mix the dry and wet ingredients separately and then just mix dry into wet ones. If the mixture is a bit too dry just add a bit more of quark/cottage cheese. Line you baking dish with parchment paper, preheat the oven on 220 C (440F) and carefully shape a pizza kind of crust from the batter you made. Be patient, as always with these variations of crusts. Tap it and make it round and flat as you can. Put it in the oven for 10 minutes and then take it out to top it with desired ingredients.

Macros for the crust only are: 37 g of carbs, 9 g of fat, 21 g of protein

image7

I used: a bit of tomato sauce, origano, 1 can of tuna, light mozzarella cheese and cherry tomatoes.

Put the pizza back in the oven for 10 more minutes and enjoy.

image5

You can make a bigger crust, just double the recipe.

I actually made a bigger batch of batter and beside the pizza I made myself  some oat cottage cheese buns for the days after. The recipe is the same as this one, just the flour is different.

image6

That is it! Hope you enjoyed the recipe. If you recreate it then you can use #healthysimpleclean so I can find it.

I am a bit less active on the blog because I am writing my thesis, but I post on my Instagram regularly so follow me there for day to day recipe ideas.

A.

3 thoughts on “Oat Crust Pizza for One

  1. Wow that looks great 🙂 I was looking for a more healthy way to make a pizza and this looks like a wonderful option, will try that soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

