Lunch and Dinner

Creamy Zucchini Soup

What to do when you have a full fridge of veggies and you know they will go bad if you don’t eat them? Make a soup! Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset I love cooking soups, they are so easy and fill you up! Unfortunately because I eat my lunches at work where I don’t have a microwave to heat up my meals (yup eat them cold – got used to it) I don’t cook soups as much as I did but this week I could do that because I was at home most of my time! I made a creamy zucchini soup. It was delicious and it is so easy to make. How a soup can fill me up you ask? Well I added avocado and quark to get my healthy fats and my proteins in. And both ingredients really do make a change with the creaminess of the soup. Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Ingredients: 4 servings

  • 3 medium zucchinis or 2 large ones
  • 1/4 onion
  • 1-2 garlic cloves
  • 1 avocado
  • 4-5 TBS of quark (can sub to for greek yogurt)
  • 1 egg (per serving)
  • 2-3cups of water
  • herbs to taste

Directions: Slice your onion and garlic cloves and sauté it on a bit of coconut oil. Slice your zucchinis and add them to the sauted onion. Leave it on medium heat so the zucchinis soften a bit and then add 2-3cups of water. Leave it to cook for around 10-15 minutes so zucchinis are fully cooked and soft. In the mean time cook your eggs (1 egg for 1 serving of soup) – they should be soft boiled. Add salt, garlic powder, pepper and basil to the soup. All to your taste preference – I usually add the spices and herbs slowly and try the dish several times so it is not too salty and spicy. Then take your immersion (stick) blender and blend your soup so your zucchinis are all blended. Mix in 1 whole avocado, 4-5 TBS of quark and blend again. The soup has to have a nice creamy texture. Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Serve it in a plate and slice up your soft boiled egg and place it in soup for a nice touch and additional protein kick. I also added 1 tsp of my Wild Garlic Pesto and a small TBS of quark. Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Macros per serving: around 210kcal: 12g of carbs (5g of fiber), 12g of fat 15g of protein.  A.

One thought on “Creamy Zucchini Soup

Leave a Reply

