Lunch and Dinner

Wild Garlic Pesto

Hurray finally a recipe came to my blog again ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve been super busy lately, but this week I was off work and finally had some time to play around and cook in the kitchen! Happy child! So I hope in the next days, and weeks a bit more recipes will come on the way before I go to India for 3 weeks (yikes!).

Anyway, here in Slovenia, it is/was the time of wild garlic (“ฤemaลพ”) that grows in large batches and is perfect to spice up your dishes, make some soups or freeze it for later months. It really adds nice touches and garlic flavour to your meals.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

I decided to make a pesto out of it because it can last a bit longer and I can add it to my pasta, soups or just spread it on a slice of Wasa bread with some avocado and eggs.

If you don’t know what wild garlic is, here you go:

Wild garlic. Photo credit: wildfoodmary.files.wordpress.com

The easy recipe is:

Ingredients:

  • 1-2- cups of wild garlic leaves (a big handful)
  • 1 cup of spinach
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/3 cup of walnuts
  • 1/3 cup of olive oil
  • salt (I usedย Barbio’s Biogettaย and Hemp salt)

Directions:

FotorCreated

Really simple as always. Mix all the ingredients in a blender. It has to come a thick pesto consistency. Add salt and garlic to taste. As it is a wild garlic pesto you do not need a lot of additional cloves of garlic as it may be too spicy. So be careful with that. Rather add them additionally to taste. I also used Barbio’s Biogetta – mixture of Piranย salt and vegetables that add a nice touch to the pesto.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Store it in a glass jar and in the fridge. I aded it to my spaghettis and a zucchini soup (recipe for which I’ll share soon).

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Hope you like the recipe. If you want more daily recipes and ideas what I eat then follow me on Instagram (@healthy_simple_clean).

A.

One thought on “Wild Garlic Pesto

Leave a Reply

