Reviews

Back to basics – Healthy options 101

I became a bit more aware of all the healthier food options the first time when I had the possibility to live on my own. First in Spain but ok with all that tapas and amazing food that didn’t really go so well. Last year I spent 4 months in France and even tough there it is hard to resist bakeries in every corner, I started cooking and preparing my lunches to work. I loved the thing that and I had in my fridge the food I ate and I enjoyed and those were mainly healthier option. I always say do not buy and have a huge amount of unhealthy food in your fridge or pantry because when you get hungry you’ll grab the first thing that comes by and in that occasion a piece of dark chocolate is better than a croissant.

IMG_1939

Healthy food options and where to get them when trying to eat a bit healthier is always a struggle in the beginning. You find all these amazing recipes and pictures that look like heaven but when you try to recreate something it turns out a disaster, because you didn’t have all the ingredients. Well at least for me it was like that and still is sometimes. We tend to struggle to find the right replacements for the food and where to buy them. That is why I decided to make a post where I just explain what I use and where I won’t go into the details of why a certain food is good for the body – I will do that probably on some other occasion. For all my Slovenian friends I’ll link and mention where I buy most of the described products so the recreation of my recipes in the future will be easier. I have to say tough that this is not in any kind a promotion or anything for any store and product – just a simple sharing is caring principle.

Carbohydrates – When “transferring” to healthy and clean eating maybe everyone is scared of carbs – which are the “good ones”, the bad ones and neutrals maybe? In this category we can put some of the products:

  • Rice (basmati or brown or even regular) – you can buy them in every store
  • Sweet potato – you can find them in bigger supermarkets
  • Quinoa
  • Oats –  I buy them in Hofer – the blue ones that are a bit more fine
  • Buckwheat (groats or flour)
  • Spelt
  • Spelt bran
  • Whole wheat flour
  • Millet grain
  • Wasa bread (the cheapest you’ll find are in DM store but I couldn’t find the link)
  • Chickpeas (the easier option are canned which you can find it in Spar, Mercator, DM)
  • Whole wheat or spelt pasta
  • Rice, amaranth cakes 

IMG_1553

Protein – the main macronutrient when talking about eating healthy, training and raising our physical activity because it is a great source for repairing our muscle tissues and keeping us full as the body needs more energy and time to digest it.

IMG_1900Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset IMG_2250

Healthy fats – Don’t be scared of fats, they are a great source of energy that your body needs.

IMG_1973 IMG_0163

Vitamins – Crucial for energy, health and well being.

Fruit: Fruit that is in season, bananas, apples, kiwi, mango, pineapple etc. Frozen non-seasonal fruit is also a great thing for smoothies (berries).

Vegetables: Fresh and in season. I also love buy frozen ones (Natureta). Good examples are: lettuce, pepper, brussels sprouts, broccoli, cauliflower, carrot, zucchini, squash, asparagus, celery, kale, spinach, tomatoes, canned tomatoes, tomato paste, beet, cucumber.

Legumes: beans, peas, lentils

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Other additions: 

  • Coconut flakes
  • Cacao nibs
  • Dry fruit (cranberries, raisins, figs, dates)
  • Goji berries
  • Mulberries
  • Cinnamon
  • Vanilla extract
  • Maca powder
  • Chlorella in powder (mix it with lemon water or in a smoothie to smooth out the taste)
  • Lemon water (warm, I drink it first thing in the morning)
  • Green tea in leaves (or Mango in tea bags from Cha tea house is perfect for a “go to” option – I love to take it with me when I study in library)
  • Coffee (Cafetino – Stari trg 5 – choose the coffee, grind the coffee and take it with you)

IMG_2150 IMG_0180

That’s about it for the basic selection of some of the food I use daily. For every not so healthy option there is a healthy alternative. You just have to find it and maybe get used to it. Everything starts in our head.

A.

3 thoughts on “Back to basics – Healthy options 101

  1. I love this! Another healthy fat that should be on that list is tahini, which is a paste made out of ground sesame seeds! It’s so delicious and goes great with roasted vegetables or even chocolate!

    Like

Leave a Reply

