Breakfast · Snacks

Homemade Granola

DSCN6692

If you still don’t know I love oats. Don’t know why but it is so simple to make them really good, they are healthy and I can eat them every day. Once in a while I try to shake up my breakfasts just for the sake of change. Change is good right? But I don’t want to buy those cereals or muesli because they are full of added ingredients and sugar that you really don’t need. When that happens I just make a batch of homemade granola and I am good to go. You know exactly what is in it, it is really tasty and you can change it up every time you make it. I am going to share the latest one I did but going to write down some extra inspirations of what else you can add if you want to change it up a bit. I really love these kind of recipes because you can really adjust your liking to the recipe made.

DSCN6693

Ingredients: makes a huge jar and a bit more of granola

  • 3 cups of oats
  • 2 TBS of cinnamon
  • 2 TBS of flax seeds
  • 1/2 cup of sliced walnuts (or any other nuts)
  • 1/2 cup of raisins
  • 1/2 cup of dried apples
  • 2/3 cup of apple sauce (if you can make it yourself!)
  • 1/4 cup of honey
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 1 TBS of melted coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup of coconut flakes (I add them when granola is baked but if you want them crispy add them in the mixture)

The ingredients you can add additionally and which I love to add are:

  • Cacao powder
  • Cranberries
  • Chocolate whey powder (mixed in with wet ingredients)
  • Dark chocolate (Add it when granola is already baked if not the chocolate will melt)
  • Cacao nibs
  • Coconut flour

And many more – let your imagination free

Directions:

Mix the dry ingredients and add the wet ones. Stir really good so everything is really mixed and that the wet ingredients really get into every corner of the oats. Transfer the mixture to a large baking dish covered with parchment paper and put it in the preheated oven on 150 Degrees Celsius (300 F). Leave it as it is for at least 15 minutes and then stir it up a bit. Here it really depends if you want to have larger chunks of granola then don’t stir it up too much. Leave it in the oven for at least another 15-20 minutes. Depends on your oven but the crucial thing is you don’t burn it and that it becomes fairly dry and crunchy. When it is done take it out and leave it to cool down. Then store it in a container – I use a big glass jar. Put it in a dry place and finish it in a week or two maybe.

DSCN6691

You can top your yogurt, cottage cheese, quark, smoothie with it or just munch on it as a snack!

DSCN6685

Hint: it is a perfect homemade gift!

A.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Granola

  1. I was always wondering how to make my own granola, so glad I found your recipe, I will try for sure! And yes, in a big glass jar, maybe with a pretty ribbon it would really make a great home made gift! Thank you for posting it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

