Sweets

Peanut Butter Protein Muffins – a perfect after lunch dessert

IMG_0276A snowy day in Slovenia calls for a new recipe. Every weekend I usually meal prep for the week ahead or at least prepare some of the basics to have them always in the fridge – rice, quinoa, chicken and veggies. Because I have a sweet tooth and even tough I try to eat clean and healthy 80% of the time that doesn’t mean that I can’t enjoy my sweets. They are just a bit tweaked so they fit my taste.

My mom and some of my friends still think that this certainly isn’t a muffin as it should be but I still love it as an after lunch dessert. It takes 5 minutes to mix the batter and 15 minutes to bake it!

I got the recipe probably somewhere on Instagram, honestly now I can’t remember from which user so if you find it please share it to me so I can make a proper reference to it.

Nevertheless that doesn’t mean I can’t share these beauties with you.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset


Ingredients: makes 5 servings

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven on 180 degrees Celsius (350 F). In the meantime prepare the batter.
  2. Mix 2 TBS of Peanut butter, 1 egg, 1 egg white and 50 g of cottage cheese.
  3. Mix in the protein powder and baking powder.
  4. Mix until the base is quite smooth – no need to use a blender here.

IMG_0269

  1. Use silicon cups for muffins – these are the best so the flour free batter won’t stick.
  2. The mixture makes about 5 muffins. Separate them and sprinkle some cocoa nibs on top.

IMG_0268

  1. Put the muffins in a preheated oven and bake them for about 15-20 minutes.

IMG_0273 IMG_0270

Now you have them. Let them sit for a while so they cool a bit. Of course the variations to the recipe are multiple. If you wish your muffins to have a bit more sweetness add 1/2 banana to the batter. You can also add sliced banana pieces in the middle of each muffin or you can take a piece of dark chocolate (I use 92% / 85%) and put a bit of it in the middle of each muffin.

Now you have your dessert prepared after every lunch for the whole week. If you need more muffins just multiply the ingredients to fit the desired number.

I honestly love them!

photo-2-2

Macros per one muffins are: 133 kcal: 3g carbs, 8g fat, 13 g protein

A.

One thought on “Peanut Butter Protein Muffins – a perfect after lunch dessert

Leave a Reply

