Breakfast

Baked Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Sunday mornings are my perfect time to slowly wake up and eat a relaxed breakfast. Normally I bake some pancakes and drink a cup of green tea. Even tough I did the latter I was scrolling through Pinterest and I found a recipe for Baked Oatmeal. I wanted to do it for some time now and the timing was great because I was thinking about meal prepping my breakfasts for the week. Looked up the recipe and went to the kitchen.

Baked Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal / Healthy, Simple, Clean

I tweaked a bit the recipe.


Ingredients: serves 4 large pieces or 6 smaller ones. 

  • 2 C of oats (180g)
  • 1 TBS of cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 medium apple sliced into pieces
  • 1/2 of peanuts (60g)
  • 1/4 of dried raisins (sultanas) (40g)
  • 3 pieces of 92% dark chocolate (25g) – or substitute with desired chocolate chips
  • 1 large banans
  • 2 C of oat milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 TBS of melted coconut oil

Directions:

  1. Heat the oven on 375 F (180 degrees C). Choose the desired baking dish – I used a smaller round one and line it with baking paper.
  2. Mix the oats, cinnamon, sliced apple, peanuts, salt, raisins and dark chocolate.
  3. Put the micture in the baking dish and arrange a sliced banana on top of it.
  4. Whisk together and egg, 2 cups of desired milk, 1 TBS of melted coconut oil.
  5. Pour the mixture over the dry ingredients.
  6. Bake for 35-40 minutes.

IMG_0120

It makes about 4 larger pieces of baked oatmeal and your are completely full after one piece. Add a cup of green tea and you’re prepared for the next four days with a healthy and simple breakfast (of course if it lasts so long). The best thing is you can change up the recipe as you want and add the ingredients you like the most. I didn’t add any sugar because I think for me it’s not necessary because it’s sweet enough.

IMG_0118

If your are interested in the macros for this (depends on the ingredients you use) they are: per piece: 395 kcal: 51 g carbs, 17g fat, 12 g protein.

A.

4 thoughts on “Baked Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

  1. Tnx Rachel! 🙂 Hmm u really want to know? For now I mix between my iPhone and iPad mini 🙂 wups hehe but it takes really high quality photos. i have a very good point and shoot camera with manual settings but I have to figure the out 🙂 For the editing it’s iPhoto, vacs and maybe Fotor – yup quite basic but for now it works wonderful!

    Like

    1. I see! I switch between my iPhone and camera too, but it’s hard to get good lighting especially during these dreary winter months.. And wow you’re a great foodtographer. (;

      Like

Leave a Reply

